top of page
Search
  • Rhiannon Oliver

B-roll day

Today was B-roll day. I started by getting up at 6am (5am UK time) and walking into Bergen center. People were already up and about going to work- the town is a fishing town and the workmen were already on their way down to the harbour. I set my camera up and waited for the sun to rise so I could get the perfect shot. I'd googled it, and I had about twenty minutes to go. Or so I thought.

Unfortunately, life isn't that easy, and I (much like the sky that day) am seemingly not very bright. For four months of the year Bergen gets next to no daylight, due to constant cloud cover. I'd ended up waking up to film some clouds.

But I wasn't going to let that get me down! I packed all my camera equipment up and slung it over my shoulder to walk to the Fløibanen on the other side of town. The Fløibanen is basically a big lift that takes you up the mountain and gives you an amazing view of the city. Obviously, there was no-one else on it because it was 6am. This meant I got a window seat!!

I took some shots whilst ascending up the mountain side and then jumped out at the top. I had very, very, very severely underestimated how cold it is on a mountain at 6am. I was also blisfully unaware of the gale force winds I would face. I quickly unpacked my kit and began to film as much as possible. I got some pans and zoom shots, but soon the wind was begining to pick up both the tripod and myself (I have video evidence of this, but sorry internet, this one isn't for you).

My fingers had also began to seize up and frankly I was exhausted. So I packed the kit back up, happy with what I'd achieved and headed back to the hotel for some sleep. A quick power nap later, and I was up and out again, getting some shots of the city and generally just lost.

I really hope I've got enough film to work with (I know that I do, but stressing is my favourite hobby).


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bouncing Back

I’ve decided to speak to a charity that helps war children across the globe today. I’ve got in contact with James Denselow from Save The Children and thankfully he has allowed me to interview him for

bottom of page